Search

Author
Title
Description
ISBN





Retail Shop Address
Shop 4
1-3 Central Court
HILLCREST QLD 4118
AUSTRALIA

Opening Hours
Mon-Wed 9am-5.30pm
Thur-Frid 9am-6.30pm
Saturday 9am-4.00pm
Sundays Closed
AEST GMT+10

Telephone
(07)3802 8746


ABN 29761626043


 
 
Gift Cards
Checkout a Gift Card


 
Quick Search

Author
Title
Description
Keyword
ISBN
Advanced Search
 
Our secure web pages are hosted by Chrislands Inc, who use a Thawte SSL Certificate to ensure secure transmission of your information.
Fully Trusted SSL Certificate
 
 
 

Historical

 - 7 items found in your search
Adult Fiction:Action & Adventure:Historical

Click on Title to view full description

 
The Puma's Shadow #1 Incas [used book], A. B. Daniel
1 The Puma's Shadow #1 Incas [used book]
A. B. Daniel UK Pocket Books 2002 074341604X / 9780743416047 Soft cover Good Book A-format 
Conquistadors and Incas, New World and old, and a clash of cultures which will change both civilisations forever, in this epic historical adventure in the tradition of Wilbur Smith and Christian Jacq. In sixteenth-century Peru, as Huayna Capac, king of the Incas, dies, he confides the mysteries of other worlds and the Inca Gods to Anamaya, daughter of an Incan princess. After his death she is the guardian of the Empire. But Anamaya cannot remember these secrets when Atahualpa, the king's chosen successor, asks for guidance. Although she knows they are within her, the only concrete reminder is the black puma spirit which prowls around her at night. In Spain, Francisco Pizarro has returned from his first voyage to Peru and seeks the king's permission to conquer this new land and be named its governor. When he sails, amongst the 180 men who accompany him is Gabriel Montelucar y Flores, a young nobleman who has escaped the clutches of the Inquisition. As the journey continues, first by sea and then overland in Peru, Gabriel will play a role he could never imagine, and become a linchpin both for Pizarro and Anamaya. Epic and unforgettable, it captures the Incas in all their splendour, savagery and spirituality - and the determination and ruthlessness of the Spanish conquistadors. And it is a classic novel of love across religious and cultural boundaries. 
Price: 8.00 AUD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
The Jester [used book], James Patterson and Andrew Gross
2 The Jester [used book]
James Patterson and Andrew Gross UK Headline Book Publishing 2003 075530019X / 9780755300198 Soft cover Good Book Trade Paperback 
Freedom - in eleventh-century France, it is a luxury enjoyed by only the King and nobility. For the serf, it is surely worth fighting for. But is it worth dying for? Arriving home disillusioned from the Crusades, Hugh DeLuc discovers that his village has been ransacked and his wife abducted. The dark riders came in the dead of night, like devils, wearing no colours but black crosses on their chests, leaving no clue as to who they are. Knights they may be, but honour and chivalry are not part of their code. They search for a relic, one worth more than any throne in Europe, and no man can stand in their way. Until Hugh, taking on the role of a jester, is able to infiltrate the enemy's castle where he believes his wife is being held captive. And when a man is fighting for freedom - for his wife, and for everything he holds dear - he will prove a formidable opponent. With the unstoppable pace and plot of a page-turning thriller, The Jester is a breathtaking, pulse-pounding adventure - one that could only be conjured by the mind of James Patterson, writing with his co-author of 2nd Chance, Andrew Gross. No one who has ever hoped for good to defeat evil or for love to conquer all will be able to stop turning the pages of this masterful novel. 
Price: 8.00 AUD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
The Bastard Boy, James Wilson
3 The Bastard Boy
James Wilson UK Faber and Faber Limited 2004 0571215149 / 9780571215140 Soft cover New Book Trade Paperback 
N.B. Remainder book Ned Gudgeon is asked to find the bastard child his brother Daniel fathered in America during the Seven Years War. Following the few clues he has, he travels first to a Carolina plantation, where he helps two slaves to escape; to Mount Vernon, to see Daniel's former brother-officer, George Washington; and then across the Appalachians, into the wild 'back country' of the frontier - where he has a series of perilous adventures with settlers and bandits, visionaries and murderers, land speculators and American Indians, before finally reaching his journey's end. 
Price: 9.95 AUD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
Pirate Latitudes [used book], Michael Crichton
4 Pirate Latitudes [used book]
Michael Crichton Australia Harper Collins 2009 0732290694 / 9780732290696 Softcover Good Book Trade Paperback 
The new posthumous thriller from Michael Crichton, one of the most famous authors in the world From one of the best-loved and bestselling authors of all time comes and irresistible tale of swashbuckling pirates in the New World -- a classic story of adventure and betrayal. Jamaica, in 1665 a lone outpost of British power amid Spanish waters in the sunbaked Caribbean. Its capital, Port Royal, a cuthroat town of taverns, grog shops and bawdy houses -- the last place imaginable from which to launch an unthinkable attack on a nearby Spanish stronghold. Yet that is exactly what renowned privateer Captain Charles Hunter plans to do, with the connivance of Charles II's ruling governor, Sir James Almont. The target is Matanceros, guarded by the bloodthirsty Cazalla, and considered impregnable with its gun emplacements and sheer cliffs. Hunter's crew of buccaneers must battle not only the Spanish fleet but other deadly perils -- raging hurricanes, cannibal tribes, even sea monsters. But if his ragtag crew succeeds, they will make not only history ...but a fortune in gold. 
Price: 8.00 AUD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
A Falcon Flies @ Flight of the Falcon #1 Ballantyne [used book], Wilbur Smith
5 A Falcon Flies @ Flight of the Falcon #1 Ballantyne [used book]
Wilbur Smith UK Pan Books 1981 0330264125 / 9780330264129 Soft cover Good Book A-format 
'A single ball came through at deck level, It struck a burst of sparks from the steel hull, like Brocks Fireworks at Crystal palace, brilliant orange even in the strong sunlight, and the hole it tore through Black Joke's plating was fringed with bare jagged tongues of metal like the petals of a silver sunflower.' In search of a father they barely remember, Zouga and Dr Robyn Ballantyne board Mungo St John's magnificent clipper to speed them to Africa. But long before they sight that mighty continent, Robyn knows that she and Mungo will battle with all the fury of natural enemies -- and love with all the desperation of those unable to evade the commands of fate. For if she can bring hope and healing to Africa's fever-ridden shores, he, a lawless trader in human cargo, will possess any man -- or woman -- he chooses... 
Price: 6.00 AUD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
Assegai #5 Courtney 3 [used book], Wilbur Smith
6 Assegai #5 Courtney 3 [used book]
Wilbur Smith UK MacMillan 2009 0230529208 / 9780230529205 Hardcover Good Book Royal 
It is 1913 and ex-soldier turned professional big game hunter, Leon Courtney, is in British East Africa guiding rich and powerful men from America and Europe on safaris in the Masai tribe territories. One of his clients, German industrialist Count Otto Von Meerbach, has a company which builds aircraft and vehicles for the Kaiser's burgeoning army. But Leon had not bargained for falling passionately in love with Eva, the Count's beautiful and enigmatic mistress. Just prior to the outbreak of World War I, Leon is recruited by his uncle, Penrod Ballantyne, Commander of the British Forces in East Africa, to gather information from Von Meerbach. He stumbles on a plot against the British involving the disenchanted survivors of the Boer War, but it is only when Eva and Von Meerbach return to Africa that Leon finds out who and what is really behind the conspiracy. 
Price: 8.00 AUD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
Golden Fox #4 Courtney 2 [used book], Wilbur Smith
7 Golden Fox #4 Courtney 2 [used book]
Wilbur Smith UK Pan Books 1995 0330317504 / 9780330317504 Soft cover Good Book A-format 
She felt Ramon come awake and spring from the bed, naked and lithe as a jungle cat. She heard the metallic snicker of a firearm as he snatched the pistol from the holster. In the darkness a yellow flower of gun-flamed bloomed, and a single bullet whiplashed across twenty yards of open ground...In the searing heat of a divided Africa two decades of bitter dynastic conflict explode with terrifying ferocity. To Gary and Sean Courtney it is a struggle to the end; brother pitted against brother as they are dragged unwittingly into the lair of an international terrorist. Only Isabella Courtney stands between them and the mutual destruction they have willed for so long. Beautiful, headstrong Isabella; the link to 'Golden Fox' - a man whose alias hides a sinister and deadly secret...Traversing a vast panorama, from the heart of London society to the grandeur of Spain, from parched Ethiopia to war-torn Angola and on to the blazing hunting grounds of South Africa and Zimbabwe, Golden Fox is masterful storytelling from the arena of war; an adventure of stirring, irresistible intensity. 
Price: 6.00 AUD
Add to Shopping Cart
 


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to info@thereallygoodbookshop.com.au
Copyright©2017. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie